Last Works - Laurence Equilbey, conductor
  • Blog

Last Works


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 41 « Jupiter »
Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 9 « The Great »

Two major works, the last two symphonies written by their respective composers. With his 41st Symphony, dubbed the “Jupiter” in the early 19th century, Mozart took the classical style to its apogee, adding an operatic touch for good measure. Thirty years later, it was Schubert’s turn to complete his last symphony, dubbed the “Grand” – a work that he would never hear performed, and that would earn him a place among the élite group of composers (Beethoven, Dvorak and Mahler) to have died after completing their 9th symphony. Two luminous, triumphant symphonies in the key of C major, avenging their composers over their destinies.
1h55 without interval


Insula orchestra
Laurence Equilbey, conductor


Other programs to discover